SFC offers a number of options that control the behavior when adding fonts to a collection. You should review these options before beginning to add fonts. Select the menu item File > Preferences to get access to these parameters.

The first group of options controls the adding of files to a collection. On top of the list is File Renaming. When you add fonts to a collection, SFC can rename the files to meaningful names, which are derived from the font name. The checkbox Rename Files enables this option. There are some other options that affect the renaming process. These are described below. If this option is disabled, the font files are copied to the collection with the existing name.

Confirm Each Addition
is an option that enables you to evaluate each font individually before deciding to add it to the collection or not. When this option is enabled, you will be prompted with a dialog showing each font and some font information (similar to the View function), before a font is added. You have the opportunity to add or skip each font based on the font’s appearance. While this adds considerably to the time needed to perform the font add task, it can be very useful in certain situations. For example, if you have a large folder full of fonts and you want to add only the script fonts to the collection, select the Confirm Each Addition option and press the Add button. For any font that looks like a script font, press Add. For all other fonts, press Skip. The Confirm dialog also lets you abort the process, by pressing Stop, or add the rest of the fonts without confirming by pressing the Add All button. Add All resets the Confirm Each Addition option.

You may have a number of fonts in folders that are within other folders. Fonts that are purchased from major font foundries will typically have a folder for each font family. SFC can look through these folders to any depth to find font files. Use the Include Sub-Folders option to enable this feature. If you uncheck this option, only the fonts in the selected folder will be added. When you select a folder, the status bar at the bottom of the screen shows the number of fonts found.

If you download fonts from the web, they will usually be compressed as "zip" files to save downloading time. You then have a number of files that must be "unzipped" before you can use the fonts. SFC can save you time by uncompressing the files automatically. Just select the Include Zip Files option, and all zip files within the selected folder will be unzipped as the fonts are added to your collection. If you have also checked Include Sub-Folders, then zip files within all sub-folders will be unzipped, as well. The fonts extracted from zip files are put into a temporary folder that is deleted after the operation is complete.

The option Show Report will display a list of the fonts that were added in the most recent operation. It makes the most sense to use this option when a large number of fonts are added. When fonts are added one by one, this is not very helpful. As an additional feature, SFC generates a list of all of the fonts that were added in each operation, and saves that list in the collection folder. The list is named “Added fonts from XXXX.txt” where XXXX is the name of the folder where the fonts were copied from. You can view the file with any text editor or view it directly with SFC. You can safely remove these files from the collection folder, if you wish.

It can happen that you have duplicates of some of the fonts on your system. This can be because they have different file names. When fonts are copied into a collection, the renaming process will give all of these duplicates the same name. Since Windows does not allow duplicate names, you must decide how to deal with these duplicate files. SFC gives you two choices; you can decide to leave these duplicates out of your collection by selecting Skip Duplicates, or you can include them by selecting Rename Duplicates. Renaming will append a number to the file name to make sure the name is unique. Thus, the third copy of "Arial.ttf" becomes Arial(2).ttf. You might use this if you are unsure which of the fonts is a high quality font from a reputable foundry and which is a cheap knockoff, and want to review them later.

After you are done, you can save these options by pressing Save. The saved option settings are used each time the application is started. Pressing Restore will bring back any previously saved settings, and overwrite any changes you have made. Default resets the settings to factory defaults, but does not affect the saved settings.

Press Cancel to discard your changes. Press Done to accept the changes and return to the main form.

see also: Preferences - File Renaming
  Preferences - Sample Strings